The Help, by Kathryn Stockett (2009)

Genre: Historical
Interest level: Adult
The HelpPart of me hates to echo the accolades already yelped around the world about this book. But I loved it – picked it up about four months ago and read it on the bus back and forth to work. What a great story! Set in the early 1960s in Jacksonville, Mississippi, it’s the story of one young woman’s coming of age in a world where marriage trumps career, whites are in power, and women can be incredibly cruel, hilariously blunt and touchingly kind to each other. I found myself cheering Skeeter as she tries to find her voice and copes with the fallout. I’m generally not a fan of historical fiction, but if they are all like this, I’m converted.
More reviews and discussion on this novel: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4667024-the-help

About Michelle Mallette
I'm just trying to keep track of the books I've read - what I liked and what isn't worth re-reading. My work as a librarian has included youth services so you'll find a wide range of interests from picture books and teen dystopia to adult sci-fi, road trip novels, and nonfiction. Comments and communication is always welcome.

Leave a Reply

