The World in 2099, by C.S. Mahrok (2012)

Genre: Nonfiction
Interest Level: Adult
The World in 2099This is another title for which I received access to e-galleys, and it wasn’t until I found myself mystified by point of this book that I realized it’s self-published through Lulu. It explains a lot. I was seduced by the cover – it promised to take a look at the state of the world as it will be at the end of this 21st century, and provide guidance on what we need to do to save our Earth from ourselves. Unfortunately, Mahrok fails miserably at the task, but it’s an entertaining journey nonetheless, and occasionally quite interesting. Mahrok attempts a lot here: water, agriculture, energy, recycling, mining, forests and seas, population, and more. I soon realized an editor had been left out of the equation when presented with an incredibly simplistic perspective on the Industrial Revolution (1933 John Kay invents the flying shuttle? really?), followed by an incomprehensible (to me) discussion of various kinds of nuclear power plants. Toss in 20-year-old data, unattributed statements of “fact,” odd choices in photos that only occasionally relate to the accompanying text, and an unending series of graphs and maps that appear to be intended to lend an air of reliability. And yet I persisted in reading it, if only to remind myself of the importance of editors. You can’t judge your own work. Proof right here in my e-reader. It’s too bad – a coherent, critical analysis of the state of our world and where we are headed if we don’t pull up our socks is exactly what we need right now. Still, I did enjoy learning how herbicide resistance was developed in plants. Too bad I can’t trust what I’ve read. I feel guilty using the Nonfiction category for this one.

About Michelle Mallette
I'm just trying to keep track of the books I've read - what I liked and what isn't worth re-reading. My work as a librarian has included youth services so you'll find a wide range of interests from picture books and teen dystopia to adult sci-fi, road trip novels, and nonfiction. Comments and communication is always welcome.

Leave a Reply

