Donny and Ursula Save the World, by Sharon Weil (2013)

Genre: Humour
Interest Level: Adult
Donny and Ursula Save the WorldThis one had me at hello – “the story of an orgasm.” Thanks to NetGalley for the ebook version of this, in exchange for my review. It’s a genre-bending delight that breaks all the rules. Ursula is taking belly dancing lessons to get in touch with her body, in hopes of getting an orgasm. Donny loves ’em and leaves ’em, until he meets Ursula. Paul is a paranoid computer geek who falls for a survivalist. Throw in vile-smelling mushrooms, a spinach-hating president, and AgriNu, a market-hungry GMO corporation seeking to put seed-savers into jail. It all works better than it should, thanks to an over-the-top satirical approach that doesn’t take itself seriously. Weil is a screenwriter and film producer trying her hand at fiction, and her craft influences the delivery – short scenes that flip back and forth to move the story forward. The writing is sharp and funny, the hilariously flawed characters earn your affection, and the silly plot delivers lessons on acceptance, sustainability, and faith without any sense of didactism. I don’t know how she did it – I kept thinking I should not be liking this! Give it a try. Me? I’m off to swivel my hips …
More discussion and reviews of this novel: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17575434-donny-and-ursula-save-the-world

About Michelle Mallette
I'm just trying to keep track of the books I've read - what I liked and what isn't worth re-reading. My work as a librarian has included youth services so you'll find a wide range of interests from picture books and teen dystopia to adult sci-fi, road trip novels, and nonfiction. Comments and communication is always welcome.

2 Responses to Donny and Ursula Save the World, by Sharon Weil (2013)

  1. Sharon Weil says:

    Wow Michelle! Thank you so much for the fantastic review of my book, Donny and Ursula Save the World, and for appreciating and understanding my intent and the oh so quirky way I am sharing this story. Not to mention how I embrace the world. Much appreciated and glad you enjoyed the ride. M.Earth and I thank you! Sharon

  2. Sharon Weil says:

    PS – I see you just did a review of Is Sustainability Still Possible. I just met Eric Assoudouran at Bioneers last month, and we traded books.

Leave a Reply

