Dark Matter, by Blake Crouch (2016)

Science Fiction
Adult
Dark Matter, by Blake CrouchThis will be a short review because too much information will spoil the story, and it’s a terrific one. First of all, let’s start with Schrodinger’s Cat – the philosophical puzzle that attempts to explain the idea of quantum superpositions – the cat in the box is BOTH dead and alive until the observer opens the box. One reality results and the other collapses. (That’s the best I can do. I’m a BA in History.) Or, think of a tree. From a single trunk grow branches, spawning more branches and on every branch are twigs and on each twig are leaves. Each leaf is the result of branching off the original trunk. Still with me? So in this story, Jason Dessen is a physics professor at a Chicago-area college who set aside his dreams of a Nobel Prize in Physics to marry Daniela and become a father to Charlie. On his way home from wistfully celebrating a (single) colleague’s success in winning the Pavia Prize, he is held up at gunpoint by a masked man who knows everything about him, including his phone passcode. The assailant knocks him out, and Jason wakes up in a world where strangers appear to know him, a world where he lives alone (but in the same house, decorated differently), and where he is a world-renowned physicist who has made an astonishing invention. Jason is desperate to return to the world he knows, and the reader joins him for a wild, brain-breaking ride as he fights his way home both physically and metaphorically. This is the first book I’ve read by Crouch (author of the Wayward Pines trilogy), and I’m totally a fan. Brilliant plotting is delivered at breakneck pacing on a topic that should make the story both confusing and unbelievable, but somehow he overcomes that and you are spellbound from the first chapter. I predict awards for this one, and likely a movie offer will be pending. Strongly recommended. My thanks to Crown Publishing for the advance reading copy provided through NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
More discussion and reviews of this novel: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/27833670-dark-matter
.
.
.
.
.

About Michelle Mallette
I'm just trying to keep track of the books I've read - what I liked and what isn't worth re-reading. My work as a librarian has included youth services so you'll find a wide range of interests from picture books and teen dystopia to adult sci-fi, road trip novels, and nonfiction. Comments and communication is always welcome.

2 Responses to Dark Matter, by Blake Crouch (2016)

  1. I almost passed this review by, thinking that the book wouldn’t appeal to me. You’ve convinced me otherwise: Dark Matter is going on my TBR list! Thanks for the recommendation 🙂

  2. Michelle Mallette says:

    I’d love to see your comments after reading it. It was my first exposure to this author; I think I’ll be reading more of his work. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

